League members:  60 Spanish teams have competed in La Liga since its formation. 20 teams contest for the title every year.
Formed in: 1929
Club with most victories in the League: Real Madrid
Greatest scorer in the League: Lionel Messi of Barcelona

La Liga is the first division (Primera División) in the Spanish football league, Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional. The top 20 Spanish football teams contest for the title every year; the three teams who place lowest are relegated to the second division (Segunda División). Since 2010, La Liga has been the strongest football league in Europe (it has won the most UEFA Champions League tournaments – 16 in total), and it is one of the most popular professional sports leagues in the world.
Latest Ticket Bookings
22/01/2019 19:43 Rahym A from Austria booked 2 tickets to Arsenal Vs Manchester United FA CUP
22/01/2019 18:52 Marcia M from United States booked 2 tickets to Chelsea FC Vs Burnley
22/01/2019 17:19 Blazej G from United Kingdom booked 2 tickets to Tottenham Vs Dortmund
22/01/2019 17:08 Gonzalo V from Germany booked 1 tickets to Arsenal Vs Manchester United FA CUP
22/01/2019 16:46 Raiyan B from United Kingdom booked 1 tickets to Arsenal Vs Manchester United FA CUP
Latest News
22/01/2019 5 biggest sex scandals in the history of Premier League
Sex scandals in the English Premier League have become quite popular. This one of the biggest leagues around the world is full of sex scandals. In this article, we’ve talked about some of the biggest sex scandals that involve league football players over the years.
13/01/2019 12 richest owners of Premier League clubs
In this article, you’ll get to know about the owners of each football club in the English Premier League. These wealthy individuals own the biggest clubs in English football.
11/01/2019 Where is the Best Place to buy Football Tickets?
Want to watch your favourite team play a match and get the full football stadium experience? There are many places where you can buy football tickets. But it’s important to consider all the options and find one which won’t leave you penniless.
02/01/2019 5 biggest scandals in the English Premier League
The Premier League has seen some of the biggest controversies and scandals in its history of 22 years. No matter whether it’s about infidelity, racism, or sexism, the league has every controversy that the world media can count on.
26/12/2018 12 Premier League stars with amazing records
English Premier League (EPL) is the topmost tier league in English football matches. A lot of well-known players have played in it and made incredible records. This article lists 12 such football players who’ve made amazing records in the Premier League over the years.

Spanish La Liga History

History of La Liga

The idea to form a national football league in Spain was first proposed in April 1927 by José María Acha, a director at Arenas Club de Getxo, one of the first Spanish football clubs. After some debate, 10 leading clubs were chosen to form La Liga, most of them previous winners or runners-up of the Copa del Rey (a cup competition for Spanish football clubs). The new league kicked off with Barcelona winning the first title in 1929. La Liga was suspended during the Spanish Civil War and resumed its activity after the war ended, but some teams were negatively affected by the war as some of their players were lost to execution, exile or as casualties. For most of La Liga history, the dominant teams were Real Madrid and Barcelona (the Big Two), followed by Atlético Madrid, Athletic Bilbao and Valencia.

The Most Successful Clubs in La Liga History

Real Madrid has won La Liga more than any other team – 32 times, most recently in 2011-12. During its career, the club has had two five-in-a-row sequences of league titles (1961-1965 and 1986-1990) and two three-in-a-row sequences (1967-1969, 1970-1980). Barcelona is the next most successful club in La Liga, boasting 23 titles, most recently in 2014-15.

Greatest Scorers in La Liga History

The greatest scorer in La Liga is the legendary Lionel Messi of Barcelona, with 286 goals from 2004 to present time. He is followed by Telmo Zara, formerly of Athletic Bilbao, with 251 goals scored from 1940 to 1955.

Memorable Moments in La Liga History

Here are several moments in La Liga history no football fan will ever forget:
  • Messi's first official goal: seven and half months after 17-year-old Messi joined Barcelona, he scored his first official goal for the club in May 2005, in a game against Albacete at Camp Nou.
  • Barcelona's guard of honor for Real Madrid: Before the 2008 final match between Barcelona and Real Madrid began, with Madrid's title already secured, Barcelona welcomed the club into the pitch with roaring applause.
  • Ronaldo's 2010 hat-trick in Mallora-Real Madrid game: in the May 2010 match between Mallorca and Real Madrid, Ronaldo was responsible for all three goals in the game, leading to a 3:1 victory.

How to Buy La Liga Tickets on Ticketgum

To buy tickets for a La Liga game, do the following:
  • Go to the "Leagues" category on the homepage, and choose "Spanish La Liga" from the list, or else search for "La Liga" in the search field until you reach the league's events' menu.
  • Choose your desired seating section, update the tickets quantity needed and click "Buy".
  • Choose your delivery address (regular or hotel) and write the address information.
  • Enter your email address to create an account or log in with an existing account.
  • Check the "I agree to the terms and conditions" box, and then click on "Continue".
  • Choose the payment method, and then enter your credit card details.
  • Click on "Continue" to confirm your La Liga Tickets purchase.
  • A confirmation email will be sent to your email address.

Spanish La Liga History Table

Atletico Madrid20118141
Real Madrid20113636
Real Betis2085729
Real Sociedad2075826
Athletic Bilbao20411523
Real Valladolid2057822
Celta Vigo2056921
Rayo Vallecano20551020
SD Huesca20251311